Untitled Basic Web Content

Evans Scholarship Foundation 

About the Program


In 1930, U.S. Amateur Champion Charles "Chick" Evans established a fund to send deserving caddies to university - now the largest scholarship program for caddies nationwide. The Evans Scholars Foundation awards full tuition and housing college scholarships to high-achieving caddies with limited financial means. Evans Scholars are enrolled at 18 leading universities nationwide, including 17 where the Foundation operates a Scholarship House. Today, more than 100,000 golfers in Canada and the United States support the program, assisted by proceeds from special events, endowments, and the PGA Tour's BMW Championship.

In 2006, Victoria Golf Club became the first golf club in Canada to adopt a caddie program dedicated entirely to the Chick Evans Scholarship. We have so far seen eleven former VGC caddies study with full Evans Scholarships. Many have already graduated, and we couldn't be more proud to see their current and future success.

Evans Program Video  

Apply for an Evans Caddie Scholarship

Successful applicants fulfill the following criteria:
  • Must achieve top marks in high school
  • Contributed to the community through volunteering
  • Come from a family with financial need
  • Completed a minimum of 30 loops per season for at least three seasons
Please note that applications are closed

Student Application  Parent/Guardian Application 

Evans Par Club

In September 2015, the Victoria Golf Club established an Evans Caddie Par Club to change the course of a lifetime, one caddie at a time. Members who generously donate to the VGC Evans Scholars Par Club Program receive Revenue Canada-approved Charitable Tax Receipts. After many years of work, the Club has refined a method by which donations to our Evans Caddies can be made through the Victoria Foundation, thereby enabling the Foundation to issue charitable tax receipts that will be recognized by the CRA.

Par Club Application


Evans Scholars

  • Holly Stewart

    The 2022 Evans Scholarship recipient is currently studying at the University of Washington. 
  • Alexandra Namuco and Phoenix Kriese

    The 2021 Scholarship recipients.

  • Angela Bowers

    The 2020 Scholarship recipient.
  • Tim Peacock

    The 2019 Scholarship recipient. 
  • River Bristow

    The 2018 Scholarship recipient.
  • Casey White

    The 2017 Scholarship recipient.
  • Mark Adams

    The 2017 Scholarship recipient.
  • Alex Adams

    The 2017 Scholarship recipient.


Contact Us

Please reach out with any questions about the Evans Scholarship Foundation, the application process, or donations.

Phone | 250 598 4321 
Email | [email protected]